July 29, 2022, SAINT JOHN (GNB) – The Forum of Ministers Responsible for Immigration met in Saint John this week to discuss joint immigration priorities of federal, provincial and territorial (FPT) governments and how to enhance Canada’s immigration policies and programs.

The meetings, held Wednesday and Thursday, were co-chaired by Arlene Dunn, minister responsible for Immigration and minister responsible for Opportunities NB, and federal Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Minister Sean Fraser.

“This joint meeting has allowed us to strategize on ways to streamline the immigration process to help provinces and territories meet their labour market priorities while finding ways to be more flexible in our approaches,” said Dunn. “We will continue to find ways to improve the experience of all immigration candidates and employers throughout the immigration process.”

Over the last year, immigration continued to contribute to population and economic growth in Canada. Ministers assessed the joint FPT efforts toward achieving immigration targets and retaining newcomers, while discussing their priorities for the 2023-25 national immigration levels plan.

“Immigration is key to addressing labour shortages across our country and I am excited about the productive discussions with the provinces and territories we have had here,” said Fraser. “As Canada continues to see increased demand from those seeking to live and work in Canada, our governments will continue to work together to ensure our immigration system can withstand the demand and meet the diverse needs of our clients. Our collaborative efforts on immigration will help strengthen our post-COVID economic recovery in the short term, while continuing to contribute to local economies and communities in the long-term and bring the benefits of immigration from coast to coast to coast.”

Ministers agreed to take steps to ensure that public support for immigration remains strong, and to continue to work together to ensure that long-term FPT immigration goals contribute to Canada’s future prosperity.

The forum is made up of the federal, provincial and territorial ministers responsible for immigration. It seeks to strengthen intergovernmental co-operation on matters relating to immigration, with the goal of improving the benefits of immigration for newcomers, the host communities, and all Canadians.

Media Contacts:

Michel LeBlanc, communications, Opportunities NB, michel.leblanc@onbcanada.ca.

Aidan Strickland, press secretary, Office of the Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, aidan.strickland@cic.gc.ca.

Media Relations, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, IRCC.COMMMediaRelations-RelationsmediasCOMM.IRCC@cic.gc.ca.

From left to right: N.S. – Minister Jill Balser, SASK. – Minister Jeremy Harrison, ALTA. – Minister Kaycee Madu, N.L. – Minister Gerry Byrne, ONT. – Minister Monte McNaughton, N.B. (co-chair) – Minister Arlene Dunn, IRCC (co-chair) – Minister Sean Fraser, P.E.I. – Minister Bloyce Thompson, MAN. – Minister Jon Reyes, B.C. – Minister Nathan Cullen, Y.T. – Minister Ranj Pillai